I am…the Bride of Christ

I am…the Bride of Christ

I am...Bride

“I am jealous for you with a godly jealousy. I promised you to one husband, to Christ, so that I might present you as a pure virgin to him.” 2 Corinthians 11:2 NIV

“Return, faithless people,” declares the LORD, “for I am your husband. I will choose you one from a town and two from a clan and bring you to Zion” Jeremiah 3:14 NIV

What does it mean to say that I am the bride of Christ? This means that just as marriage between a man and a woman is a covenantal bond, we have been given a covenantal bond with God through Christ.

We are not under the old covenant that we so easily broke, but under the new covenant. We are no longer bound to God by obedience to law but bound by faith in Christ. Our covenantal marriage is not signed in stone, but written on our hearts.

When we place our trust in Christ, and receive His forgiveness, accept His Lordship, and are indwelled by the Holy Spirit, it is like we are saying, “I Do.”

We are now pronounced the BRIDE OF CHRIST.

 

One thought on “I am…the Bride of Christ

Leave a Reply

