I am…a Citizen of Heaven

I am…a Citizen of Heaven

I am...a Citizen of Heaven

“But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ,” Philippians 3:20 NIV

As I read this verse, I am reminded of the saying, ” When in Rome do as the Romans do.” That sounds all well in good, but that in no way is a way to wisely govern one’s lifestyle. I mean, seriously, the Romans were no angels. 🙂 Doing life as those that you are near is not what God would have us to do. He would have us to live in light of our citizenship. That does not mean our earthly citizenship, but as CITIZENS of heaven.
When we accepted Christ and decided to allow Him reign of our life, we gained new citizenship. We no longer belong to this world. This temporary home should not rule our decision making, we should not be living as the Romans do, but as the angels would, as true citizens of heaven.
Today as you encounter life, respond with heavenly action and tongue, Oh Citizen of Heaven!
2 thoughts on “I am…a Citizen of Heaven

  1. Thanks! God’s blessings to you – may he give us the strength and the courage to make the right decisions in every situation.
    I think we always have the option, do as the flesh commands, or do as God commands – I pray we continue to #LiveforJesus

Leave a Reply

