I am…a Comforter

I am…a Comforter

i am...Comforter

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.  For just as we share abundantly in the sufferings of Christ, so also our comfort abounds through Christ. If we are distressed, it is for your comfort and salvation; if we are comforted, it is for your comfort, which produces in you patient endurance of the same sufferings we suffer.” 2 Corinthians 1:6 NIV

 

This season of life I find myself surrounded by so many who are suffering. There are close friends and family members who are ill and struggling in many different ways. There are co-workers and neighbors who have come up against calamities of all sorts. It would be easy to be look around me and feel distraught by such an abundance of pain. The difference maker for me is clearly Jesus.

He has given me THE comforter. I have been so thoroughly comforted in my own past struggles. Not just so that I myself can make it through the battle, but so that I can then pay it forward and comfort others as He has comforted me.

My brothers and sisters, if you are IN CHRIST, you too have been comforted.

You have been given that same comforter, the Holy Spirit.

Now let us ALL live out our identity and COMFORT others!

 

Leave a Reply

